Best of the Alps Award



The Best of the Alps® Award honours individuals, businesses and institutions in the Alpine region for outstanding achievements and contributions to economic, cultural, social and political life.


Underlying the award is the aim of publicising the importance of the European Alpine region for tourism, and as such to make a significant contribution to reflecting on how the economy, the environment and sustainability are connected. A further central objective is ensuring the award-winning person and their performance also become known beyond national borders.

The first Best of the Alps® Award was presented in 2011 to the athlete, entertainer and nature conservation advocate, Hansi Hinterseer. Past award winners have also been Gian Franco Kaspar (FIS President), Franz Julen (CEO of Intersport International) and Prince Albert II of Monaco (2014).

All Best of the Alps® winners

2018 Weltorganisation für Tourismus der Vereinten Nationen (UNWTO)

2016 David Ravanel - Chamonix-Mont-Blanc

2015 Kaufhaus Strolz - Lech Zürs am Arlberg

2014 Fürst Albert II von Monaco

2013 Franz Julen (CEO of Intersport International)

2012  Gian-Franco Kaspar (FIS President)

2011 Hansi Hinterseer